Here are my New Year’s resolutions this year:

  1. Make whatever needs to happen with the book HAPPEN.

That’s it.

Whether it’s rewriting the whole thing from a different POV, or tinkering with commas ’til I’m blind, or querying 50 more agents, or finding a professional editor/zoologist/psychic to read the ms — I’m going to make it happen.

NaAgFiMo resulted in only good things for THE CAPITAL ZOO… new possibilities, new perspectives, new potential directions and reasons for hope. Even though the blogging experiment ended abruptly when my mother had to go into the hospital just before Thanksgiving, it proved definitively that my own perseverance is the only thing that will get THE CAPITAL ZOO where I want it to be: in the hands (or on the screens) of readers.

I learned a tremendous amount in the last two (terrible, horrible, awful, please do not repeat) months of 2011, and I’m still sorting through a lot of it, but it’s not going to stand in the way of this book. Let’s go, 2012.

